News Hub

Local lifesaving crew win Emergency Services Award at LeicestershireLive Heroes Awards

Last night saw the celebration of some of Leicestershire’s remarkable people in the sixth annual LeicestershireLive Heroes Awards – with the Derbyshire, Leicestershire, and Rutland Air Ambulance (DLRAA) proudly winning a local prestigious award.

The 2020 awards, which took place virtually, recognised the extraordinary efforts of Leicestershire people who have made their communities proud.

Over the last year, the crew of the DLRAA, based at East Midlands Airport, have continued to provide their lifesaving service to the people of Leicestershire.

The passionate team has worked tirelessly around the clock to ensure that pre-hospital emergency care is very much a part of the clinical service that is available to everyone 365 days a year within Leicestershire and Rutland, as well as further afield.

The commitment to patient care by each and every one of the team of doctors, pilots, and critical care paramedics has continued throughout the COVID-19 pandemic and has been a testament, not only to their level of commitment and flexibility to their work but also in providing vital support to the wider NHS – which has been integral during this time.

Because of this, the DLRAA won the ‘Emergency Services Award’ and were finalists in the ‘Healthcare Heroes Award’ for the Leicestershire based awards.

Director of Operations, Richard Clayton says, “I am incredibly proud of the teams at the Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Rutland Air Ambulance and the Warwickshire and Northamptonshire Air Ambulance. Despite the challenges faced during this pandemic, the crews have continued to operate 24 hours a day, seven days a week, delivering exemplary critical care to their local communities.

“A huge congratulations to the DLRAA team for winning the ‘LeicestershireLive Heroes Awards 2020’ in the Emergency Services category, the team’s commitment and dedication to their roles, and to the wider charity has been unwavering, and they thoroughly deserve their award.”